香港有轨电车指南 | Hong Kong Pass

跟随我们的香港指南,您会发现这座城市最古老的的交通方式之一仍然在运行。

香港最令人喜爱的特色之一并不是壮阔的景观,而是一辆很不起眼的有轨电车。有轨电车在香港因其无处不在的噪音被亲切的称为“叮叮车”,是这座未来城市传承下来的最古老的交通方式之一。

跟随我们的指南,您还可以了解到很多有关有轨电车丰富多彩的历史以及许多有用的小窍门。

 

香港交通:历史

环游香港岛现存的最古老的方式之一,就是今天位于香港岛北岸的有轨电车。这种车最初于1881年拟建,直到1904年第一批电车才出库上路。

最初设计时只考虑了单层有轨电车,后来很快又增加了双层有轨电车,以满足人们对这种新型交通工具的需求。自1912年以来,这个运行体系大部分时间使用双层电车客运,而单层电车仅用作货运。

第二次世界大战日本占领时期,电车的运营体系被搁置起来,共有109辆电车的车队只有15辆投入营运。

最初有些电车是为精英阶层专门设计的,上层配备了花园风格的座位和开放式的顶棚。甚至在有轨电车尾部增加了挂车,作为头等座位的选择。直到1972年等级差别票价才被取消,这使得有轨电车更方便、更经济实惠。

 

在香港有轨电车上看什么?

当您从坚尼地城乘车前往筲其湾,您将在途中浏览香港一些最有趣的景点。位于西岛的上环是值得前去一游的地方。在这里您可以看到“西港城”,一座美丽的殖民时期的建筑。它建于1904年,是香港最古老的建筑之一。在上环,您还可以看到中环至半山自动扶梯系统的半山部分,据说这是世界上最长的自动扶梯系统。

往东进入中环,您会看到宏伟的香港中银大厦,位于原美利楼的旧址,此前美利楼从该位置原封不动的迁到了赤柱。这一独具匠心的设计被当地人叫做“Yaat Baa Dou(粤语)”,字面意思是“一把刀”,暗指其刀刃的形状。

如果您乘车从坚尼地城前往筲其湾方向,您会发现自己很有可能正前往跑马地。这里您会看到位于跑马地跑马场的全貌。该跑马场于1845年开始营业,是一个主要的旅游景点,当然也是那些挥金如土的人们的最爱。1918年的一场大火,烧毁了竹屋,至少590人遇难。自那以后跑马场不断扩建,现在可以容纳5.5万名投注者。

如果您前往筲其湾,您会在北角发现“春秧街街市”,是闻名的传统市场。伴随着叮叮的车铃声,有轨电车带您缓缓地穿越市场中心,电车两旁摆满了摊位。以前市场的摊位都建在铁轨上,有轨电车发出的叮叮声提示摊主们挪开摊位,随着往来电车的增多,摊位已被撤离。

然而,如果您想体验一种更完美的电车之旅,您可以参加TramOramic香港电车之旅。使用Hong Kong Pass,您可以享受到15%的票价优惠,在老式古朴的电车车厢里享受一小时的导览之旅。敞篷式的双层电车将向您展示沿途的风景,利用众多的有趣照片、视频和艺术品向您介绍有轨电车的悠久历史。

 

香港有轨电车线路

香港有轨电车有六条环线,沿着双向的轨道系统运行,将游客带到指定的位置。这些线路如下:

  • 坚尼地城至跑马地
  • 坚尼地城至筲其湾
  • 石塘咀至铜锣湾
  • 石塘咀至北角
  • 西街市至筲其湾
  • 跑马地至筲其湾

有关香港有轨电车线路的有趣资料

  • 电车逐渐提速
    2008年之前,通常电车的时速为每小时30公里(19英里/每小时),但现在电车的速度已经发生变化,使人们能够更快地抵达目的地。这条线路的速度达到了每小时40公里(25英里/每小时),但这只是一小部分,有的有轨电车最高时速达到每小时60公里(37英里/每小时)。
  • 线路比较长
    端到端的系统长度大约13公里(8.1英里),但是,所有铺设的轨道加起来,其长度接近于30公里或19英里。作为世界上最古老的仍在营运的有轨电车来说,这个长度相当长。
  • 使用它的人数众多
    据记载,全港120个车站每天平均有18万人选择乘坐有轨电车。每年有6570万人次乘坐双层电车。具体来说,这些电车一年的载客量相当于整个英国的人口之和。的确很多。
  • 它是最便宜的交通方式
    如果您在香港精打细算,又不想步行,那么“叮叮车”是您最好的出行选择。2018年7月以来,有轨电车的成年人票价为2.60港元(约合33美分),儿童票价为1.30港元(17美分),老年人票价为1.20港元(12美分)。
    无论您乘坐多远的距离,都不必忧虑要付多少钱,因为票价是一样的。
  • 候车时间短
    有轨电车的平均等待时间为1.5分钟,您不用等很久,就可以登上这些富有特色的电车。每当车铃(叮叮)响两下的时候,那是提示您车要拐弯了。

限时优惠:额外再节省24%费用 (10月 23日 促销结束,赶紧入手!)即刻购买

Guide to the Hong Kong Tram | Hong Kong Pass

Follow our guide to the Hong Kong tram to see the city in one of oldest modes of transport still going.

One of Hong Kong’s most beloved features is not a major sight but just a humble tram. Affectionately referred to as the "Ding Ding" for its ubiquitous noise it makes, the Hong Kong tram is one of the oldest continual modes of transport in the futuristic city.

Follow our guide to learn its colourful history and many much needed tips.

Hong Kong Tram: History

One of the oldest ways to get around Hong Kong that still exists today is the beloved electric tram that hugs the north coast of Hong Kong island. Originally proposed in 1881, it wasn’t until 1904 that the city’s first trams left the depots.

Initially created with single deck trams in mind, double deckers were soon added to quell the demand that the new mode of transport had created. Since then in 1912 the system has used double deck trams of the majority of the time with single decker trams used as freight.

During the Japanese occupation of the city in World War 2 the city’s trams system became an afterthought with 15 of the 109 tramcar fleet managing to stay operational throughout the war.

Some of the first tram cars were designed solely for members of the elite with upper decks being furnished with garden style seating and open top transport. Trailer carts were even added to the rear of the tram to serve as a first class seating option. It wasn’t until 1972 that the class distinction fares were scrapped making the trams more accessible and economically more viable.

What to see on the Hong Kong Tram?

As you ride along from Kennedy Town to Shau Kei Wan, you’ll meander by some of Hong Kong’s most interesting sights. One great place to visit is Sheung Wan in the west of the island. Here you can see the Western Market which is a beautiful colonial building that was built in 1904, making it one of Hong Kong’s oldest buildings. In Sheung Wan you can also see the mid-level part of the Central-Mid-levels escalator system which is said to be the longest escalator system in the world.

As you head further east into Central, you will come across the magnificent Bank of China tower which stands on the same spot as Murray House after it was relocated to Stanley brick by brick. The incredible design has caused locals to label it Yaat Baa Dou in Cantonese, which literally means 'One Knife', alluding to its cutting edge shape.

If you’re tram is deviating from the Kennedy Town to Shau Kei Wan direction you will find yourself most likely going to Happy Valley. Here you will see the Happy Valley Racecourse in all its splendour. The venue which has been open since 1845, is a major tourist attraction and certainly the home for many who like to have a flutter with their cash. Victim to a huge blaze in 1918 that saw the bamboo stables perish and with it at least 590 people, the racecourse has since grown and can now hold 55,000 punters.

If you do travel towards Shau Kei Wan you will come across Chun Yeung Market in North Point otherwise known as wet market. Here the tram will take you literally through the heart of the market with stalls either side of your tram as you ding along. Previously market stalls were set up on the tracks and the incoming ding dings from the tram would signal them to move but with more and more trams this has been forced to stop.

However if you’re looking for a more complete tram tour experience you jump aboard the TramOramic Hong Kong tram tour. With The Hong Kong Pass you will get 15% off your ticket price as you enjoy an hour long tour guide on a vintage style tram cart. The open top double decker tram will show you sights and teach you about the rich history of the city’s tram ways with a host of interesting photos, videos and artefacts along the way.

Hong Kong Tram Routes

The Hong Kong Tram has six overlapping routes that take visitors to certain points along the two way track system. These routes are as followed:

  • Kennedy Town to Happy Valley
  • Kennedy Town to Shau Kei Wan
  • Shek Tong Tsui to Causeway Bay
  • Shek Tong Tsui to North Point
  • Western Market to Shau Kei Wan
  • Happy Valley to Shau Kei Wan

Fact about the Hong Kong Tram system

  • It’s pretty long
    The system length from end to end is a mere 13km (8.1 miles) but when you look at all the track laid you are closer to 30km or 19 miles. For one of the world’s oldest actively running tram systems that’s pretty long.
  • A lot of people use it
    Across the 120 stations on Hong Kong island it is recorded that, on average,180,000 users ride the trams every day. That’s a massive total of 65.7 million people ferried along in these double decker trams every year. To put that into context, these trams transport the equivalent of the population of the entirety of the United Kingdom in a year. That’s a lot.
  • The trams are getting faster
    Prior to 2008, trams usually hit speeds of 30kmph (19mph) but that changed to get people where they needed to go faster. This saw the speed rise to 40kmph (25mph) but that’s still just a fraction of the tram’s top speed that can see them go as fast as 60kmph (37mph).
  • It’s the cheapest mode of transport
    If you’re in Hong Kong on a budget and still want to get where you need to go without walking, then the Ding Ding tram is the way to go. Since July 2018, tram users could expect to pay just $2.60 for adults (that equals roughly 33¢ US), $1.30 (17¢) for children, and $1.20 (12¢) for senior citizens.
    You won’t have to worry about paying for how far you go either with the tram’s fares being the same no matter the distance you travelled on the service.
  • You won’t have to wait for long
    With an average wait time of 1.5 minutes for a tram, you will never have to wait very long until you’re aboard one of these iconic machines. The double bell ring (ding ding) will remind you that one is always just around the corner.

Save up to a further 24% for a limited time only (Hurry! Sale ends Wednesday 13th November)Buy now